Symphony – Music & Creation


I. Air & Allegro
II. March
III. Adagio
IV. Ground

Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in B flat, 2 Bassoons, Double-Bassoon
2 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in B flat, 2 Trombones & Bass Trombone
Percussion [2 players]: Lion’s Roar, Anvil, Rain Stick, Whip, Triangle, Tambourine, Castanets, Drum Kit (including 5 Roto-Toms & 5 Temple Blocks), Cymbals (clashed & suspended), Bass Drum, Three Timpani
Duration: about 40 minutes
Dedicated to Sir Roger Norrington

Commissioned by the English Music Festival
and first performed on May 27th 2013
by the Orchestra of St. Paul’s, conducted by Ben Palmer
in the Abbey at Dorchester-upon-Thames; and again at St Paul’s Church Covent Garden on October 1st 2015.

The four movements are associated with the classical elements of Air, Fire, Water and Earth. Much of the musical material was suggested by scientific theories and myths about the act of Creation. The last movement develops into a set of variations on the Elizabethan folksong Watkins Ale, which deals with the creative process and the Triumph of Will.

Comments are closed.